Department of Sociology


About the Department

The University of Frankfurt Department of Sociology counts among the leading sociology departments in the world and is the home of the famous „Frankfurt School“. Founded in 1919, and currently the largest sociology institute in Germany, Frankfurt Sociology is reinventing itself to build on its proud and strong tradition of innovative, creative and foundational work and to take advantage of its setting in the diverse and international city of Frankfurt.

Twenty three professors and over fifty doctoral and post-doctoral social scientists cooperate in research and teaching in seven thematic sections. The specialties in Frankfurt include sociological theory, empirical methods, social stratification and social inequality, political sociology, education, social psychology, cultural sociology, gender, migration, diversity, economic sociology, the sociology of work and organization, Science and Technology Studies, and environmental sociology.

The department of Sociology is well networked internally and across institutional borders. For example, we enjoy close cooperations with our sister department, the Department of Political Science, the Sigmund-Freud-Institute, the Institute of Social Research, The Cornelia-Goethe-Center for Women’s Studies and Gender Research, the Institute for Economics, Work, and Culture, the Center for Leadership and Behavior in Organizations (CLBO) and the Center for Individual Development and Adaptive Education of Children at Risk (IDeA).

The Study of Sociology at the University of Frankfurt develops in students the capacity for sociological thinking and research. We expose students to the topical breadth within the field of sociology, the theoretical orientations, and empirical research. At the end of their studies, successful students of Sociology in Frankfurt will possess the ability to understand, analyze, and explain complex social issues and problems.

Thematic Sections in the Department of Sociology

The department of Sociology is organized in seven Thematic Sections:

  • Sociological Theory, History of Sociology, and Philosophy of Science
  • Empirical Social Science Methods
  • Social Stratification, social inequality, and Education
  • Microsociology, social psychology, and culture
  • Gender, Diversity, and Migration
  • Economic Sociology, Sociology of Work and Organizations
  • Science, Technology, and Environment